Welcome to the home pages of The Finnish Society of Obstetrics and Gynaecology

The Finnish Society of Obstetrics and Gynaecology (SGY) was founded in 1928 by Professor Seth Wichmann, together with eight other gynaecologists working at the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the Helsinki University Hospital.

The society communicates with many national and international organisations within the disciplines of perinatology, ultrasound, endocrinology and infertility, oncology, urogynecology and gynecological surgery.

The Finnish Society of Obstetrics and Gynaecology is a member of the international organisations FIGO, EBCOG, UEMS, NFOG and IFFS.

The society organises annually two educational meetings for members: one in the spring and the other in the autumn, traditionally in November. The November meeting is also the official annual meeting of The Finnish Society of Obstetrics and Gynaecology. In addition to these general meetings, the society organises smaller meetings for perinatologists, urogynaecologists, infertility specialists and gynaecological oncologists. Seminars for colleagues dedicated to or interested in research, administration and education take place every 2 – 3 years.

The most recent addition to the subgroups working within the society is the one for trainees in gynaecology and obstetrics (EGO), which organises courses twice per year. This training programme rotates every three years.

E-mail of the board: hallitus (a) gynekologiyhdistys.fi

Hannele Laivuori
TAYS Naistenklinikka
PL 2000
33521 Tampere
puheenjohtaja (a) gynekologiyhdistys.fi

Marjo Tuppurainen
KYS naistentautien- ja synnytysklinikka
PL 100
70029 KYS

Reetta Sartoneva
Seinäjoen keskussairaala
Hanneksenrinne 7
60220 Seinäjoki
sihteerisgy (a) gynekologiyhdistys.fi

Seppo Virtanen
HUS Naistenklinikka
PL 140
00029 HUS
talous (a) gynekologiyhdistys.fi

Annaleena Heikkilä
annaleena (a) heikkilat.fi

Jonna Salonen
Representative of private practitioners

Liisa Laatio
OYS, Synnytys- ja naistentautien klinikka
PL 23
90029 OYS
liisa.laatio (a) oulu.fi

Hanna Savolainen-Peltonen
HUS Naistenklinikka, Lisääntymislääketieteen yksikkö
PL 150
00029 HUS

Kirsi Joronen
TYKS Naistenklinikka
Kiinamyllynkatu 4-8, PL 52,
20521 Turku

Pauliina Aukee
Keskussairaaloiden edustaja
Jyväskylän keskussairaala

Johanna Lavi
Representative of trainees



Editor-in-chief of Sykli: Riina Katainen, riina.katainen (a) utu. fi
Sponsor contact: Henri Sova, nayttely (a) gynekologiyhdistys.fi
Webmaster, management of register of members: Kristiina Rönö, webmaster (a) gynekologiyhdistys.fi